The FSU Board of Trustees is the 13-member governing board for the University. Peter Collins is the Chair of the Board of Trustees.

The Florida State University Board of Trustees was created in 2001 and is the public body corporate of the university. It sets policy for the institution and serves as the institution's legal owner and governing board. The Board of Trustees is responsible for high quality education programs within the laws of the State of Florida and Regulations of the Florida Board of Governors. The Board of Trustees holds the institution's resources in trust and is responsible for their efficient and effective use. The thirteen member Board of Trustees is composed of six members appointed by the Governor, five members appointed by the Florida Board of Governors, the Chair of the Faculty Senate and the President of the Student Body.